## PROHIBITION ON FEDERAL FUNDING FOR ANIMAL LABORATORIES IN COUNTRIES OF CONCERN

SEC.\_\_\_\_. PROHIBITION ON FUNDING ANIMAL LABORATORIES IN CERTAIN FOREIGN COUNTRIES.

(a) In General.—No federal funds may be made available to--

(1) directly or indirectly conduct research that involves testing on vertebrate animals in any facility, or through any entity, owned or controlled, directly or indirectly, by--

(A) any of the foreign countries specified in

subsection (b); or

(B) such other foreign country that the Secretary

of State, in consultation with the

Secretary of Defense, or any other appropriate Federal official determines is a foreign country of concern for the purposes of this Act; or

(2) support, through grants, subgrants, contracts, cooperative agreements, or other funding vehicles, research that involves testing on vertebrate animals conducted by any entity based in a foreign country referred to in paragraph (1).

(b) Foreign Countries Specified.--The foreign countries specified in this subsection are the following:

(1) The People's Republic of China, including the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

(2) The Islamic Republic of Iran.

(3) The Democratic People's Republic of Korea.

(4) The Russian Federation.

(c) Report on Addition to List of Foreign Countries.--

(1) In general.--The Secretary of State shall submit to the chairperson and ranking member of each of the appropriate committees of Congress a report with respect to each instance in which the Secretary makes a determination with respect to a country under subsection (a)(1)(B) that contains a detailed accounting of the Secretary's reasoning for such determination.

(2) Timing.--A report shall be submitted under paragraph(1) not later than 60 days after the date of an instance described in such paragraph.

(3) Appropriate committees of congress.--In this section, the term ``appropriate committees of Congress'' means--

(A) the Committee on Appropriations of the Senate;

(B) the Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions of the Senate;

(C) the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs of the Senate;

(D) the Committee on Appropriations of the House of Representatives;

(E) the Committee on Energy and Commerce of the

House of Representatives; and

(F) the Committee on Homeland Security of the House of Representatives.